wave

Actions Taken at November 21, 2018 City Council Meeting

The following actions were taken at the November 21, 2018 City of Cottage Grove Council meeting. City Council meetings are broadcast by the South Washington County Cable Commission and are available for online viewing at www.swctc.org.

Presentations

Swearing in Ceremony – Police Officers Travis Mulvihill and Robert Swanson
City Council swore in new police officers Travis Mulvihill and Robert Swanson.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003

Eagle Scout Award – Humberto Mueller (Troop 286)
City Council awarded Humberto Mueller was presented with an Eagle Scout Award.

Contact: Neil Belscamper, Deputy City Clerk, nbelscamper@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2878

Beyond the Yellow Ribbon – BTYR President Kate Hoelscher
Beyond the Yellow Ribbon President Kate Hoelscher gave an annual report on the organization.

Contact: Kate Hoelscher, President Beyond the Yellow Ribbon, cgbtyr@gmail.com

City of Cottage Grove Winter Holiday Events Presentation
City Council received information on city-sponsored holiday events in December.

Contact: Molly Pietruszewski, Recreation Services Manager, mpietruszewski@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-3404

Consent Agenda

Establish Precincts and Polling Places for the City of Cottage Grove
City Council adopted resolution 2018-144 establishing precincts and polling places for the City of Cottage Grove.

Contact: Joe Fischbach, Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2883

Well 12 Pumping Facility – Final Payment
City Council adopted resolution 2018-147 approving the final payment in the amount of $81,087.64 to Municipal Builders, Inc. for the Well 12 Pumping Facility.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Interim City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

Façade Improvement Grant Program
City Council authorized staff to include the proposed 2019 Façade Improvement Grant Program as part of the City of Cottage Grove’s 2019 Budget at the December 5, 2018, City Council meeting.

Contact: Matt Wolf, Economic Development Specialist, mwolf@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2833

Parkview Pointe – Authorize Feasibility Report
City Council adopted resolution 2018-146 authorizing the preparation of a feasibility report for the Parkview Pointe Street & Utility Improvements.

Contact: Nathan Estrem, Project Engineer, nestrem@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2829

Salary Adjustments
City Council approved the salary adjustments as presented.

Contact: Joe Fischbach, Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2883

Planning Commission Appointment
City Council appointed Jerret Wright to fill an unexpired term on the Planning Commission ending February 29, 2020.

Contact: Christine Costello, Interim Community Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

Armstrong Ice Skating Rink Conversion
City Council approved converted Armstrong Ice Rink to a free rink after the 2018-2019 season.

Contact: Zac Dockter, Parks and Recreations Director, zdockter@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2847

65th Street, Geneva Avenue, and New Oltman Middle School Improvements Project – Final Payment
City Council adopted resolution 2018-148 approving the final payment in the amount of $174,887.57 to Eureka Construction, Inc. for the 65th Street, Geneva Avenue, and New Oltman Middle School Improvements Project.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Interim City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

Stoneybrook Villas Comprehensive Plan Amendment – Submittal to Met Council
City Council adopted resolution 2018-149 authorizing the Community Development Department to submit the Stoneybrook Villas Comprehensive Plan Amendment to the Metropolitan Council per their online electronic submittal process.

Contact: John Burbank, Senior Planner, jburbank@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2825

Electric Powered Landscaping Equipment Grant
City Council authorized staff to apply for up to $2,500 in matching grant funds from the MPCA to convert gas-powered landscaping equipment to electric.

Contact: Zac Dockter, Parks and Recreations Director, zdockter@cottagegrovemn.gov,  651-458-2847

Prosecution Services Contract with F. Joseph Taylor, P.A. for 2019-2021
City Council renewed the Prosecution Services Contract with F. Joseph Taylor P.A. for 2019-2021.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003

Communications Manager Hiring
City Council approved the hiring of Scott Seroka as Communications Manager.

Contact: Jennifer Levitt, Interim City Administrator, jlevitt@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2890

Regular Agenda

Menards Expansion
City Council adopt Resolution 2018-145 approving the site plan review and conditional use permit for the proposed expansion at Menards, 9000 East Point Douglas Road South, and variances to the minimum parking requirements and minimum exterior architectural requirements for the proposed accessory structure.

Contact: John McCool, Senior Planner, jmccool@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2874

City Council Vacancy Process
City Council approved a process to temporarily fill a vacancy on the Cottage Grove City Council upon Council Member Johnson’s resignation due to his election to the Washington County Board of Commissioners.

Contact: Joe Fischbach, Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov  651-458-2883