wave

Actions Taken at the January 16, 2019 City Council Meeting

The following actions were taken at the January 16, 2019 City of Cottage Grove Council Meeting. City Council meetings are broadcast by the South Washington County Cable Commission and are available for online viewing at www.swctc.org.

Consent Agenda

Pay Equity Report

Council accepted the pay equity report

Contact: Joe Fischbach, City Clerk/Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2883

Advisory Committee on Historic Preservation Meeting Minutes

Council accepted and placed on file the minutes from the November 13, 2018 meeting of the Advisory Committee on Historic Preservation.

Contact: John Burbank, Senior Planner, jburbank@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2825

Open Forum Response – Jamaica Avenue & Military Road Intersection

Information only – Council received copy of staff response.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Acting City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

Hound Around Expansion

Council adopted resolution 2019-005 approving the amendment to Hound Around’s conditional use permit to allow an addition to the existing building to accommodate more kennels, a larger indoor play area, outdoor kennels, and a storage area.

Contact: John McCool, Senior Planner, jmccool@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2874

61 Marine & Sports Expansion

Council adopted resolution 2019-006 approving the conditional use permit to expand the existing nonconforming use of indoor and outdoor sales of recreational vehicles and equipment at 61 Marine & Sports to allow for additional outdoor storage and sales of recreational vehicles and boats on a two-acre leased plot of land.

Contact: John Burbank, Senior Planner, jburbank@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2825

Up North Plastics: Environmental Assessment Worksheet

Council adopted resolution 2019-008 finding that there is a negative need to prepare an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) for the Up North Plastics – Cottage Grove Plastics Manufacturing Facility Expansion and that the EAW was sufficient to ascertain the negative need to prepare an EIS based on the established findings.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

Approval of Rental Licenses

Council approved the issuance of rental licenses to the properties listed in the attached table.

Contact: Samantha Drewry, Code Enforcement Officer, sdrewry@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2876

2019 Legislative Agenda

Council adopted the 2019 Legislative Agenda

Contact: Jennifer Levitt, City Administrator, jlevitt@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2890

2019 Business License Renewals

Council adopted resolution 2019-010 authorizing renewal of 2019 business licenses.

Contact: Neil Belscamper, Deputy City Clerk, nbelscamper@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2878

2018 Trail Improvement Project – Final Payment

Council adopted resolution 2019-011 approving the final payment in the amount of $63,954.93 to Minger Construction, Inc. for the 2018 Trail Improvements Project.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Acting City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

Public Hearings

2040 Comprehensive Plan Update – Public Hearing and Authorization for Submittal to the Metropolitan Council

Council held a public hearing and adopted resolution 2019-007 authorizing submittal of the Cottage Grove 2040 Comprehensive Plan to the Metropolitan Council.

Contact: John McCool, Senior Planner, jmccool@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2874

Up North Plastics – Creation of TIF District No. 1-19

Council held a public hearing and adopted resolution 2019-009 approving a modification to the development program for Development District No. 1 and establishing Tax Increment Finance District no. 1-19 and adopting Tax Increment Financing Plan for District No. 1-19.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

General Obligation Equipment Certificates 2019B

Council held required public hearing under section 147(f) of the IRS tax code.

Contact: Robin Roland, Finance Director, rroland@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2832

Regular Agenda

Sale of $4,245,000 G.O. C.I.P. Bonds 2019A and of $2,960,000 G.O. Equipment Certificates 2019B

Council Adopted Resolution 2019-012 awarding the sale of $4,090,000 General Obligation Capital Improvement Plan Bonds 2019A. and adopted Resolution 2019-013 awarding the sale of $2,845,000 General Obligation Equipment Certificates 2019B.

Contact: Robin Roland, Finance Director, rroland@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2832