wave

Actions Taken at the May 1, 2019 City Council Meeting

The following actions were taken at the May 1, 2019 City of Cottage Grove Council Meeting. City Council meetings are broadcast by the South Washington County Cable Commission and are available for online viewing at www.swctc.org.

Consent Agenda

Building Safety Month Proclamation

Council proclaims May 2019 as Building Safety Month.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

Anti-Bullying Day Proclamation

Council proclaims May 18, 2019 as Anti-Bullying Day in the City of Cottage Grove in support of the 7th Annual Standing Strong 5K Run/Walk taking place on May 18 at 9 a.m. at Hamlet Park in Cottage Grove.

Contact: Joe Fischbach, City Clerk/Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2883

National Public Works Week Proclamation

Council proclaims May19-25, 2019 as National Public Works Week.

Contact: Adam Moshier, Management Analyst, amoshier@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2844

Acceptance of Grant from Washington County CDA

Council adopted Resolution 2019-053 authorizing the acceptance of a $20,000 grant from the Washington County CDA's Predevelopment Finance Fund for the Master Plan of the Shoppes of Cottage View.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

100th Street Water Main Extension Project - Quote Award

Council adopted Resolution 2019-055 awarding the quote for the 100th Street Water Main Extension Project to Burschville Construction, Inc. in the amount of $99,670.00.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

Rental License Issuance

Council approved the issuance of rental licenses to the properties in the attached table.

Contact: Samantha Drewry, Code Enforcement Officer, sdrewry@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2876

2019 Joint City Street Striping - Quote Award

Council adopted Resolution 2019-056 awarding the 2019 Joint City Street Striping project to the lowest accepted quote supplied by AAA Striping Service Co. in the amount of $49,876.21.

Contact: Nathan Estrem, Project Engineer, nestrem@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2829

Economic Analysis of Athletic Events

Coucil received and placed on file the Economic Analysis of Athletic Events in Cottage Grove report.

Contact: Zac Dockter, Parks and Recreation Director, zdockter@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2808

Accept SWWD CCIP Grants for Pond Survey Project and 2019 Pond Maintenance Project

Council approved the South Washington Watershed District (SWWD} Coordinated Capital Improvement Program (CCIP} agreements for the pond survey project in the amount of $15,000 and the 2019 Pond Maintenance Project in the amount of $86,250.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Acting City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

T-Mobile Antenna Lease Agreement

Council approved the renewal of the site lease agreement with T-Mobile for its antennas on the Inwood Water Tower effective January 1, 2022 for a 25-year term.

Contact: Adam Moshier, Management Analyst, amoshier@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2844

Temporary Liquor License - St. Paul Park/Newport Lions

Council authorized issuance of a temporary intoxicating liquor license to the St. Paul Park/Newport Lions in conjunction with Strawberry Fest at Kingston Park.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety/Police Chief, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003

100th Street Watermain Extension - Easement Agreement Approval

Council approved the easement agreement with Glendenning Farms, L.P. and Joan Glendenning Kennedy Family Limited Partnership.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Acting City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

Temporary Liquor License - Cottage Grove Lions

Council authorized issuance of a temporary intoxicating liquor license to the Cottage Grove Lions in conjunction with Strawberry Fest at Kingston Park and Lamar Softball Complex.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety/Police Chief, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003

Planning Commission Minutes 

Council accepted and placed on file the minutes from the March 25, 2019, Planning Commission meeting.

Contact: Kathy Dennis, Planning Secretary, kdennis@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2827

Hy-Vee - Second Amended and Restated Contract for Private Development Estoppel Certificate 

Council authorized the completion of the execution of the second amended and restated contract for private development estoppel certificate for Hy-Vee, Inc.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

Airgas USA - Temporary Construction Easements

Council approved the WAG-EDA and EDA-Airgas USA Temporary Construction Easements as part of the Airgas Development.

Contact: Matt Wolf, Economic Development Specialist, mwolf@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2833

City Administrator Salary

Council approved City Administrator Jennifer Levitt's annual salary at $145,745.00, retroactive to January 1, 2019.

Contact: Joe Fischbach, City Clerk/Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2883

95th Street & Jamaica Avenue Intersection Improvements - Approve Plans & Specifications and Establish Bid Date

Council adopted Resolution 2019-057 approving the plans and specifications and establishing a May 30, 2019, bid date for the 95th Street & Jamaica Avenue Intersection Improvement Project.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Acting City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2899

National Police Week and Peace Officers Memorial Day Proclamation

Council proclaims May 12 - 18, 2019 as National Police Week, and May 15, 2019 as Peace Officers Memorial Day.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety/Police Chief, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003