wave

Actions Taken at the May 15, 2019 City Council Meeting

The following actions were taken at the May 15, 2019 City of Cottage Grove Council Meeting. City Council meetings are broadcast by the South Washington County Cable Commission and are available for online viewing at www.swctc.org.


Consent Agenda

League of MN Cities Insurance Trust Package Policy Renewal

Council approved the renewal of the Package Insurance Policy with the League of MN Cities Insurance Trust for the 2019-2020 policy period in the amount of $225,664.

Contact: Joe Fischbach, City Clerk/Human Resources Manager, jfischbach@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2883

HERO Center Business and Operational Plan

Council adopted Resolution 2019-058 approving HERO Center Business and Operational Plan and approve hiring of HERO Center staff.

Contact: Robin Roland, Finance Director, rroland@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2832

Brown Farm Minor Subdivision and Variance

Council adopted Resolution 2019-059 approving the minor subdivision to divide a 10.17-acre parcel of land into one 3.01-acre parcel and one 7.16-acre parcel and a variance to the minimum required front lot width requirement for the 3.01-acre parcel.

Contact: Emily Schmitz, Senior Planner, eschmitz@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2825

Summers Landing 3rd Addition Final Plat, Development Agreement, and Easement Agreements

Council adopted Resolution 2019-064 approving the Summers Landing 3rd Addition final plat, which consists of 75 single-family lots and 3 outlots for landscaped cul-de-sac islands and future phases. Council approved the Summers Landing 3rd Addition development agreement with Summergate Development, LLC (Developer). Council approved the development easement agreements allowing for minor modifications by the City Attorney.

Contact: John Burbank, Senior Planner, jburbank@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2825

Development Project by Newport Midwest LLC

Council adopted Resolution 2019-062 authorizing support of tax increment financing {TIF} for the proposed 54-unit multi-family development at 7601 79th Street South by Newport Midwest LLC.

Contact: Christine Costello, Community & Economic Development Director, ccostello@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2824

Electronic Sign at River Oaks

Council authorized replacement of the Electronic Sign at River Oaks by Vector Sign Solutions.

Contact: Robin Roland, Finance Director, rroland@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2832

Ice Arena Locker Room Expansion Project

Council approved amendment to agreement with East Ridge Face-off Club for the final payment of their portion of project expenses.

Contact: Robin Roland, Finance Director, rroland@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-2832

Minnesota Department of Health PFAS Study- Letter of Support

Council authorized City Staff to provide a letter of support to the Minnesota Department of Health to further study the health implications from PFAS in drinking water.

Contact: Ryan Burfeind, Acting City Engineer, rburfeind@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-289

Emergency Medical Services Week Proclamation

Council proclaims May 19-25, 2019 as Emergency Medical Services Week in the City of Cottage Grove.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety/Police Chief, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003

HERO Center Artwork

Council authorized entrance into a professional services agreement with Foster Willey, Sculptor LLC for construction and installation of the approved artwork for the Hero Center.

Contact: Pete Koerner, Director of Public Safety/Police Chief, pkoerner@cottagegrovemn.gov, 651-458-6003